When you move in, for example, a landlord is required to disclose to you the names of all the people who have a right to manage the property. They’re also required to tell you if there is any visible evidence of mold. If there is, you have the right to change your mind about moving into the property within five days.
2. There is a limit on how much the security deposit can be.
Virginia state law dictates that the security deposit cannot exceed the amount of two month’s rent. Also, if all the conditions are met, the security deposit must be returned to you within 45 days after you move out.
3. Certain rules have to be followed before you can get evicted.
For example, if you have repeatedly violated the lease (such as damaging the property or keeping a pet), the landlord may give you an “unconditional quit notice,” which means that you have 30 days to move out before the landlord can file for eviction
4. You have the right to withhold rent if important repairs are not made.
If a landlord fails to take care of an important repair, such as a broken heater or a blown fuse, you have the right to withhold paying rent until the repair is made.
5. There are restrictions on a landlord’s right to access the rental property.
When a friend of mine was living in Richmond, her landlord and one of his buddies unlocked the door and walked into the apartment she was living in as she was sleeping, with no notice. As you can imagine, it terrified her. This action was illegal. A landlord is required to give you 24 hours notice of entry (unless you’ve requested maintenance).
It’s always helpful to know the laws and know your rights! Click here for more information on landlord-tenant laws in Virginia.